Whats app now Introduces news group invite system privacy

0 156

Social Media: Facebook’s WhatsApp messaging platforms has presented a new privacy setting and invite system to help users decide who can add them to groups, the social media giant announced on Monday.

The WhatsApp groups continue to connect family, friends, coworkers, classmates and more.

As people turn to groups for important conversations, users have asked for more control over their experience.

Today, “we’re introducing a new privacy setting and invite system to help you decide who can add you to groups,” a statement issued by Facebook read.

With the new features, users will have more control over the group messages they receive.

“These new privacy settings will begin rolling out to some users starting today and will be available worldwide in the coming days to those using the latest version of WhatsApp,” the press release added.

To enable them, users can go to settings in the app, then tap account > privacy > groups and select one of three options: ‘everyone’, ‘my contacts’, or ‘my contacts except’. ‘My contacts’ means only users one has in their address book can add them to groups and ‘my contacts except’ provides additional control for who among one’s contacts can add them to a group.

In those cases, according to the statement, an admin who can’t add users to a group will be prompted to send a private invite through an individual chat, giving users the choice of joining the group.

It said. “The users will have three days to accept the invite before it expires.”

Sadaf Khan, Media Matters for Democracy Director welcomed the decision, saying: “Developing new ways to increase consumers’ control is a positive step.”

She uttered the hope that WhatsApp will continue to enable consumers with tools that help them define their own information experience in “an active and informed manner.”

Social media application whatsapp lovers have been suffering from whats app group problem because before this privacy whats app has introduced now, anybody can add to his/her group, although user had still option to leave the groups any time but that old system was still messy.

Comments
Loading...